

## Colonel Lee Read Award

Established in 1964, this award honors the low junior scorer in the Kentucky State Amateur Championship. The award was presented annually from 1964-1990, and was re-instituted in 2006. The award is named in honor of the late Colonel Lee Read, who is considered the "Father of Junior Golf" in Kentucky. He was a long-time member of the first USGA Junior Golf Committee and served as starter at the USGA Junior Amateur Championship and the U.S. Open Championship for a number of years.

## **Colonel Lee Read Award Winners**

<u>Year</u>	Winner	Score	Year	Winner	Score
1964	Phil Armbruster	305	1983	Jim Vernon	298
1965	Kenneth Backus	285	1984	Steve Flesch	299
1966	Stacy Russell	298	1985	No Award	
1967	Bruce Ford	300	1986	Tony Guest	307
1968	Stacy Russell	307	1987	No Award	
1969	Dennis Hurley	303	1988	Matt McIntire	293
1970	Eddie Lowry	299	1989	P.J. McDougal	288
1971	Stewart Wheeler	298	1990	Patrick Vadden	292
1972	Brad Fabel	292	2006	Jared Wolfe	229
1973	Mike Maynard	291	2007	Chase Carpenter	220
1974	Russ Cochran	288	2008	Danny Bishop	222
1975	Ralph Landrum	304	2009	Hunter York	145
1976	Jodie Mudd	302	2010	Jared Flanery	212
1977	No Award		2011	Brendon Doyle	222
1978	Pat Stephens	289	2012	Tyler McDaniel	212
1979	Bruce Blythe, III	299	2013	Tyler McDaniel	203
1980	Mike Bibb	297	2014	Bill Tom Sargent	212
1981	John Kernohan	302		Fred Allen Meyer	212
1982	Rob McNamara	300	2015	Allen Hamilton	222
			2016	Erik Edwards	207